Embarrassed

PROMPT: Launch from the sentence-starter, “When I’m embarrassed…,” and keep your pen moving for 6 minutes.

Peek into the hidden corners of your characters by having them do this prompt.

2 responses to “Embarrassed

  1. Come back to ojai and teach!!!!

    Xo Jodi

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. When I’m embarrassed I have this experience like I leave my body. And at the same time I’m excruciatingly in my body. It’s the most uncomfortable thing that I experience – ever – except, of course, any kind of physical pain. I REALLY don’t like that. I don’t know which one I would choose – it’s like Sophie’s choice . . . well, not that bad. Not like I’m giving up one of my children. But who would choose to be embarrassed, frozen, lighting up in wonderful colorful displays for the world at large and yearning to turn away, run, hide, be anyplace but where you are. Maybe in the corners of your mind looking for a drop floor – “Drop me out of sight now, God – no need to wait!” When I’m embarrassed I wish that I could turn myself into an insect, maybe a cockroach, that’s how I’m feeling anyway, something with a hard shell to fend off and scurrying little legs to get away as quickly as possible, right through the walls as they seem to go sometimes. A disgusting cockroach. When I’m embarrassed, I’m low to the ground, as low as I can be. And I don’t want you to know me . . . hell, I don’t want to know me!

Leave a comment